Instant Breakfast – CHSR 97.9 FM

I’m going to be taking over CHSR’s Instant Breakfast show for a couple days a week here on campus and in doing so I’ve come to learn A LOT of great East Coast music. One of the best parts about working with a radio station, especially CHSR, is how much local music they receive. There are shelves on shelves dedicated to this stuff. HOW AWESOME IS THAT?! What other job or volunteer work lets you listen to new, local music until your ears bleed out awesomeness? Not many. Not many at all…

I sat in with Tim Rayne this morning as a guest for the Instant Breakfast show to get a handle for it. I’m excited to start taking over and talking more, but of course this doesn’t come without the worry of messing up or running out of things to say. I’m sure like anything, all it will take is a little preparation and practice to get comfortable with it. Once I do though, that’s when the fun starts.

Here is the podcast from this morning, featuring a full vinyl, international playlist including a little Daft Punk, The National, Low, Besnard Lakes, and My Bloody Valentine:

http://chsrfm.ca/blog/2013/05/22/chsr-instant-breakfast-2/

I’m going to be looking/listening to a lot more music this summer and I can’t wait to discover all the new local talent! That’s yet another reason I love radio too, is for the fact that most (if not all) of these bands come out of the Maritimes. Whether it’s from my hometown in Nova Scotia or my second home here in Fredericton, there are so many bands that are in need of a little TLC.

Speaking of alternative living, I’m pretty excited to make the CHSR station my second apartment here in Fredericton. Besides the expensive equipment, lack of bed and way more rad posters, it really shouldn’t be that much different from my real one. But seriously, what I’m looking forward to the most is making my own CHSR buttons. They have this really cool old (maybe new, but it looks old) button maker and I can’t wait to get my hands on a couple sharpies and produce some limited edition “Sarah Blue Jean” buttons.

Anyway, cool buttons aside, I’m excited to give my playlist a bit of a refresher. You know how the same old playlist starts to get boring after a couple weeks of pure obsession and repetitiveness, well this is a great way for me to keep on top of good music and upcoming bands. The manager Tim Rayne, introduced me to the website and it’s proven to be really really cool. it’s called http://www.bandcamp.com and you can pick your area and find local bands within it. I have been looking up local Fredericton bands as well as ones from Halifax and P.E.I. (which surprisingly has a really great variety). Here is the link to the Fredericton page if you want to check it out.

http://bandcamp.com/tag/fredericton?sort_field=date

I would highly encourage you to take a look around your city or area to find some new, local music. Who knows, you might be surprised by what you hear!

Leave a comment